Chuunibyou episode 9 KyoAni comments

Welcome back to another round of comments from the KyoAni staff regarding their current show, Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai!. This was a really emotional episode, wasn’t it? I felt the magic was back after three subpar weeks (the Isshiki episode didn’t go over well for me), and I’m curious what the staff had to say this week. Let’s take a look!

Production Sketch:

Rikka and Dekomori’s casual clothing. One point to note: chuunibyou girls have a way with style.

And now to staff comments!
Episode Director/Storyboarder Noriyuki Kitanohara

This is…
the storyboarder and director of episode 9…
Kitanohara..

This episode has done me in remarkably. Rikka was hilarious.
I may be at my limits. It may finally be too much for my own hands.
I didn’t want to admit this. Call it an error in my mid-life…
I’m done for.
Nibutani, I leave the rest to you.
THUD

P.S. Isshiki, you’re a nice guy. Keep at it.

Background Artist Naoki Hosokawa:

This is Hosokawa, the person in charge of backgrounds for Chuunibyou episode 9.

Usually, there’s no request for backgrounds, but this time we enjoyed inadvertently drawing the backgrounds based on Nibutani.
But what did you about the courageous last scene at twilight? You were able to sense the dramatic atmosphere sensation, right?

Special Effects Artist Rina Miura:

Deathly nice to meet you, I’m Miura and I had the privilege of being in charge of special effects.

At last, it deathfinally happened!
The young girl has fallen in love +゜*。:゜+(人*´∀`)+゜:。*゜+☆ (That feeling you get in your heart)
We’ve reached that “love” portion of Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai! you’ve been waiting for death to see!

Up until now, being in charge of special effects meant that I was tasked with creating clay figures and weapons that Rikka-chan would fight to the death with, but this time my role was to color her cheeks with all my might. (The slightly blushing cheeks were one deadly effective portion of this work)
When I first received the storyboards for this episode, I thought the cute girl falling in love was so “cute and awkward…☆”! It was so enjoyable to have the privilege to work on this episode.

I very much hope it was as enjoyable for everyone to watch as well. And so, I hope you continue to watch this deathly path of chuunibyou love!

Have I said how difficult it can be to work in “death” in sentences? I hope they read well even with that pun in them. And so we end another week of Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai!. Here’s hoping the next episode is going to be great! We have the return of Takemoto to look forward to!

2 thoughts on “Chuunibyou episode 9 KyoAni comments

  1. My thanks to the staff. Great job! I think it was a turning point at the shrine for Rikka to build up to another epic battle, only for nothing to happen in the ‘other’ world. That’s a major change to me, and feedback to Rikka that reality can have it’s own nice benefits. Keep up the good work, all.

  2. Kuddo’s to the staff for one of the best episodes I can remember. Superb story, backgrounds, and animation. It’s one that will take me multiple watchings to absorb everything.

Leave a Reply

