Plans for Anime Expo

One of the biggest anime conventions in the world and the largest in North America will begin next Friday. Anime Expo‘s 2011 convention features a lot of guests, panels, and attractions that will be sure to satisfy everyone who attends. This will be the first time that I will be in attendance at Anime Expo and I’m greatly looking forward to it. My good friend/sidekick Skorpegeist will be traveling with me. I hope to meet several people that I talk with online if they are attending as well as all the bloggers in Shinmaru’s blogger meet-up on Day 2. Other than that, here’s the route I’ll be taking:

All times PST
Day 0:
Work until 12:30 PM
Load vehicle and travel to airport for 5:06 flight to LA (sleep on long flight)
Arrive at 12:30 AM
Check into Kawada Hotel and sleep for a couple hours

Day 1:
8:00 AM – Check-in and get Miku tickets
Walk around and familiarize myself with the layout/gawk at cosplayers
11:00 AM – Starchild panel (?) – I’m curious how the process for Toradora!‘s BD-Box is going, so I might ask about that in their Q&A
Obtain nourishment
2:00 PM – Get in line for The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya (dub version)
4:00 PM – Watch the dubbed Haruhi movie.
7:30 PM – Nourishment again
Walk around Little Tokyo/convention center

Day 2:
Morning: Walk around Little Tokyo
Afternoon: Wander around convention center
4:30 – Bandai Panel
6:00-8:00 – Blogger meet-up
8:30 – Miku Concert
10:00 – likely watching Nichijou

Day 3:
Morning –  HANASAKU IROHA #14!
Karoke with friends
Open time
8:00 PM – Head to LAX
10:40 – Leave on flight

So really I’m open to meeting up at any time other than what’s mentioned. Skorp is disappointed that the Maid Cafe is more of a show than an actual cafe, so we’re unlikely to head to that. I’m looking forward to seeing downtown LA and more anime fans. The Haruhi movie is always a great event and I’m glad to see the premiere of the dub. I hope to see several of you all there!

5 thoughts on “Plans for Anime Expo

  1. I cant believe it’s just about a week away now! ^_^ I look forward to seeing you there and having a blast!

    I’ll let you know how the second showing of the Haruhi movie goes after you leave~

  2. Please let us know what you thought about the dub of SHnS(Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya). I really want to know if Michelle Ruff was able to give us the perfect Yuki with emotions. I know Crispin will be awesome with the rooftop scene and telling the IDSE to “suck it”.

    Also if Bandai still hasn’t told us the official release date by the time their panel starts and they don’t do it before Q&A, please ask them when they are planning to release it because I want to give Bandai my money for the movie and I am considering buying 2 copies of it so being able to plan out my pre-order would be appreciated. If they have already announced the official release date, please ask them when they are going to release both seasons on Blue-Ray in North America and ask them if they plan to bring over any footage of the Haruhi concert that was on the Japanese Blue-Ray box.

    Enjoy AX. I wish I could be there, but I hope you enjoy it, and to end this message. Moe moe kyun or as the K-ON! dub taught us “the Power of Cute compels you”.

    • I’ll be updating my Twitter account the best I can after the show, so stay tuned to that for initial impressions. I won’t have a computer so detailed impressions will have to come later. I think it’ll go well since the dub has been good to the point.

      I expect that Bandai will announce a release date since all the big work is done for the film. While DVD extras are disappointing, the additional cost for BD extras isn’t worth the hassle for me to complain about. I’d like to ask them about the BD chances, but they’ve already spoken about the difficulties of The Girl Who Leapt Through Time and it’s extras on BD so I have my doubts it’ll ever be released in NA. The concert was released on DVD in 2007, so they’ve had time to release it if they planned to (which wouldn’t happen). I can already say that The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya will not be released on BD in NA due to additional Blu-Ray licensing costs as well as the low absorption rate of BD in NA for anime. A singular movie would be fine as it’s a one-time release, but a TV series is highly different when it’s already been released on DVD and didn’t sell as expected.

      Thank you for your wishes. I do hope that it’ll be fun and I’m greatly looking forward to it. I just wish I had better news regarding Haruhi in BD for NA.

  3. I am a little sad, but that is all well and good. One of these days I will get service from a tsundere….

    I haven’t made any definite plans, but am looking forward to meeting everyone, and wandering through the convention. I am also looking forward at seeing all of the cosplayers and other sights and sounds.

    Plus, it will be a great time to get away from the lanthanide chemistry for awhile.

Leave a Reply

