Megax’s Favorite Characters: #1 Koizumi Itsuki

Since this is my personal blog, I’m hoping to have some interesting pieces here about my favorites and such. Instead of counting down from 10-1 like most lists, I’d like to deviate from the norm and go 1-10 for my favorite characters.

It’s no secret that my favorite character in anime is Itsuki Koizumi from the Haruhi Suzumiya series. I’ve previously analyzed his character on Cartoon Leap and I’ll be remiss if I didn’t include part of what I mentioned.

The first attributes that I think about with Koizumi is sheer intelligence and ability to adapt to situations. Whether it’s finding out that he’s stuck in an never ending loop or about to fight a giant cave cricket, he’s always as cool as a cucumber. When Kyon and Mikuru start to panic and freak in weird situations, Koizumi will remain annoyingly calm and begin to think of a way to solve the solution.

I am a big fan of intelligent characters. While I understand that most people view them as simple plot devices and almost “Mary-sue”ish, a genuinely well-crafted intelligent character can be an incredible benefit to a story. Koizumi has the ability to think in a situation and choose a path based on his immediate conclusions as seen in Mysterique Sign. Even when doing so, he never steals the spotlight from Kyon except in one situation that hasn’t been animated yet (a door comes to mind for novel readers).

I’m one of the few people who believes that Koizumi is not in love with Kyon, but rather that he’s fallen for Haruhi instead. In Disappearance he’s mostly the same person when compared to the rest of the brigade, even paying for the food (much like he offers help to Kyon many times in the novel for financial assistance since Kyon pays for everything) and he blatantly states that he fancies Haruhi. I say that he’s only helping Kyon because he knows that he has no chance to be with Haruhi as she’s for Kyon instead and competition through the brigade members would only cause a breakdown of the brigade (as stated in Endless Eight). Haruhi even asks if he has plans with a girlfriend during plans for the Christmas Party and his only response was “How pleasant that would be if it were the case.”

I can’t help but feel somewhat remorseful for Koizumi with how his situation appears to be. Imagine being told about a girl that gives you immense powers you use daily to save the world from a possible destructive fate for three years. Additionally you also have a mind link to her emotional status and any kind person would want to ensure that she becomes and remains happy. It’s not a strain of logic to imagine that anyone would become infatuated for a romantic partner with that type of relationship.

Three years pass and then that girl finally becomes happy when you’re around her. The problem is that she’s happy because of another male present. Koizumi takes the moral high road and helps Kyon keep Haruhi happy while maintaining the safety of the planet as well. From what we’re shown, all of his “free time” is taken up by Organization activities and as such the only enjoyment he can take in life is the time he spends with the SOS Brigade.

I’ll be the first to admit that when I first watched Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu in 2007, my favorite character was Kyon due to being the male lead as well as very sarcastic. Over the two years that I spent away from anime, I changed a lot as a person and as such when I started to revisit the series in 2009 during Endless Eight I saw the series in a new perspective. Here was a character that would be a great male lead in any other show and yet people are dismissing him entirely except as a love interest of Kyon.

While I began to really like his character during the re-airing, it was reading the fan-translations of the novels that sparked me into a big fan of Koizumi. I won’t go into spoiler territory, but it was his actions in the mansion that made me realize “this person is truly devoted to the Brigade over everything” and that really signaled to me what an amazing character he is.  He never gets the main focal point in a story, yet he seems to always be involved in solving the problem. He’s important, yet not important.

To conclude: is Koizumi used mostly as a plot explainer, yes but he’s needed to be the best supporting character he can be. If he isn’t available, the world could possibly end since the male lead tends to be thick-headed at times. He’s given up his happiness to benefit others and the fanbase ignores him due to it. I can’t help but be a fan of a character like Koizumi.

Also that smirk he always has is awesome.

9 thoughts on “Megax’s Favorite Characters: #1 Koizumi Itsuki

  1. Any particular reason why you want to countdown from 1 to 10 instead of 10 to 1? The suspense of finding out #1 is a fun part of lists like this, but in your case, since I already knew your #1, I’ll be looking forward to what 2 through 10 are =D

    Another great writeup on Koizumi. I agree that even though he appears to be just a Mr. Exposition, like the rest of the characters, there are so many other subtleties about him in his words and actions that make him interesting, for example, his feelings for Haruhi, possible jealousy of Kyon, whether he’d be loyal to the Brigade in all situations, etc,. The fact that things like this about him are brought up but not concretely explained adds an appealing air of mystery about him (as it does for Yuki and Mikuru).

    I only enjoy Kyon x Itsuki shipping as a joke – like you said, although I think he’s jealous of Kyon, he doesn’t let his jealousy get the better of him; he accepts the fact that Haruhi likes Kyon and will do his best for both of them. He’s fond of Kyon as a comrade of course – perhaps all the times he messes with Kyon in an almost yaoi-like fashion are just him letting out some of that jealousy by making Kyon feel uncomfortable XD

    Looking forward to the rest of your list~

    • Since #1 was 100% completely obvious, I felt little need for suspense on that end. Considering how many characters I’ve claimed to like, I think it’ll be more suspenseful who I leave out rather than who was number 1.

      I have to say due to the lack of character focus, Koizumi has the least developed surroundings. We can infer a lot from the other interfaces as well as Disappearance for Yuki and we see how Mikuru changes, but Koizumi gets little to nothing. It’s both sad and happy that he takes a lot of work to understand.

      I have no doubt that his joking with Kyon is almost payback for his jealousy. I think it’d only be human to be jealous in that situation and for that to be the only way to get some revenge would be the only way he could express himself. I greatly liked the “Then I’ll say it….. No, I wouldn’t fit the part.” lines in Endless Eight for all of the Koizumi/Kyon reactions. It’s obvious there’s something there for both of them towards Haruhi in each loop.

      Number 2 should not surprise anyone given how much I talk about that character and screencap him/her.

  2. GASP! Someone else who understands that Itsuki isn’t in love with Kyon and instead in love with Haruhi! I have pointed out exactly ALL of those reasons you have pointed out to the nay-sayers and now that someone else see’s what I see I can finally cross out “I must be delusional since no one else can see it” of my ‘Reasons no one understands’ List. Itsuki has always been my favorite male character in TMoHS and it’s glad to see someone else likes him aswell. The poor guy doesn’t get enough screen time as far as I’m concerned.

  3. Ah, probably the most underrated characters in the entire series and fandom. I saw that your 5th favorite is Mikuru, way to go! (She’s my #1 favorite character) The anime focus right now almost makes it look like the SOS Brigade only consists of Kyon, Yuki and Haruhi therefore, they’re the characters with the most fans. Reading the novels though really changes your entire outlook on the series and the wasted potential of these two characters that are only moe or yaoi blobs in the eyes of far too many people.
    I’ve never thought that Koizumi was gay either, I mean, he openly says a few times that he is jealous of Kyon and his relationship with Haruhi. Speaking of which, I’m really hoping for Koizumi’s love for Haruhi to become a bit more prominent in the later novels to come, or at least some more exploration into his character. By the way the novels are going though it seems like the plot and character focus is well, aliens first, then time travellers and hopefully after that, espers.

    • Well, to be honest the anime has only focused on stories that heavily involve Kyon, Haruhi, and Yuki thus far. When we get further into the novels, then we’ll see the better side of Mikuru and Koizumi. I can’t wait to see how fandoms change as more stories are animated.

      All I can say is to read the parts of the latest novels that have been translated. It reminds me greatly of the impact that Melancholy has with how big the plot becomes. I think they’re rightfully worthy of the four-year wait due to how great they’ve turned out.

  4. Ah, finally! I found another Haruhi fan that doesn’t immediately jump into yaoi conclusions regarding Itsuki-Kyon’s interactions. I hope I won’t sound too much of a copycat when I’m saying this: I always think that he’s messing up with Kyon as a way to vent his frustrations about Kyon’s thick-headedness…when it comes to Haruhi.

    It makes me sad that in Disappearance he’s able to communicate his feelings more openly towards Haruhi to Kyon. KyoAni’s version of Disappearance even adds that curt, sharp line that I like: “I’m jealous.” I always feel like it was the sharp punch in the gut that Kyon deserves, as in “There, Kyon! You get that girl’s love and all you do is complain! What about a guy who loves her too and she doesn’t even notice him except for his outward “uniqueness”?”

    I agree that the light novels (the fan translations–since the licensed aren’t available in my country) give me more insight on Itsuki’s perspectives because the long dialogues (or monologues, in his case?)always hint at the depth of his character yet to be explored).

    But well, I must admit that the biggest portion of my liking Itsuki is caused by the torch he’s carrying (the love for Haruhi). I guess I have an unrequited love fetish (for fictitious characters, that is).

    • It’s such a shame that most of the fandom just completely ignores this part of Koizumi. They can’t even ignore the part in Disappearance now that the movie will soon be out in English.

      Outside of why you like Koizumi, I agree with everything you said. I just like the atmosphere he gives off moreso than the unrequited love aspect.

  5. LOL! I guess I put it badly…it’s not just because Itsuki’s unrequited love that I like him. Of course I like his atmosphere too. The fetish is just a side note. >.<

  6. Glad to know that I’m not alone in thinking that Itsuki’s a great character (despite him being somewhat underrated in the fandom). I’ve watched the series before and had recently watched the Disappearance again due to some random “cravings”. I can’t help but think that he (the real Itsuki) actually likes Haruhi because of the things he so subtly says (especially that confession in the Disappearance) but he keeps them a secret (and hides it superbly at that) because he knows that he has no chance with her and probably also due to the Organization’s orders/advices. I haven’t read the light novels though… :/

Leave a Reply

