Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai! volume 1 translation

This post has been a long time coming. I received my copy of the Chuunibyou light novels on May 2nd and immediately began translating the prologue. About a month later, I had finished the entire novel and took some time off before working on the second. In the meanwhile, we kept getting news about the anime form. Due to issues with the content and getting back to translating prose, the first draft was not up to par in my opinion. Following that, the second draft still had some issues with the first chapter. Eventually, I decided to revise it again and get input from a group of people to finish editing it and now I present to the internet the fan-translation of the first Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai! light novel.

PDFs:PDF/Alternative PDF made by arczyx (Novel 2 will be in this format): PDF
Epubs:(bigger screens)epub/(smaller size screens) epub

Credits:
Translation: ultimatemegax
Editorial committee: Kaisos Erranon, Parsonator64, Goggen, and Zorogou
PDF:areqyx
epubs: Zorogou

I suppose some words/thoughts on the translation would be appropriate. This originally started as a challenge to myself. Previously, I had translated pieces that were already animated and as such, I had seen/heard voices/motivations/tones already and could match my phrasing. While this is being released post-episode 8 of the anime, both novels were finished in July! You’ll see a slightly different look at Yuuta because of that.

If you’ve read the preview of the first two chapters I released last week, you’ve noticed just how different things are in the light novel and you’ll see more changes yet to come. For those who didn’t read the preview (and have no need to now), you’re in for a fun ride. The anime has taken quite a few liberties with the plot and created their own universe. I can’t say all the changes are good ones in my own personal opinion.

My style is to try and limit the amount of translator notes used in the source. There are circumstances where I feel I had to use them though. One change that really ends up being changed is “月下氷人” to something completely different than its literal translation due to those circumstances. The story would feel off if I just used “Cupid” or “matchmaker”, so I improvised and used a term that would better represent what Rikka would say if she spoke English. That’s the biggest and only alteration to the main story.

Finally, I really need to thank a lot of people. Though I only put 4 in the “editorial committee” there were a lot of people who contributed input into this project. Kaisos was my go-to guy for translation issues even when he despised the text itself, Parsonator64 helped edit the first two chapters, Goggen read the un-edited version (TWICE!) and provided some great input, Zorogou helped make the e-reader versions I link above, superdry read the un-edited version and provided a lot of input regarding clarifications, Maria added some wonderful insight, and finally TMSIDR was willing to read the very first versions of each chapter and has been so helpful along the way. It was the support from everyone who linked to my translations, copied them onto forums/boards, and spread the word about the franchise which help keep me going each week for all the work I put into the episode/scan translations. This is for you. Please enjoy.

NYAHAHAHA!

Though the first novel is done, we still have a sequel to post! Here’s the prologue/episode to novel 1! Look for Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai! 2 coming soon!

61 thoughts on “Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai! volume 1 translation

  1. Congrats on finishing your translation of novel 1 ^_^ I know you worked extremely hard on this and you were really passionate about it, so it’s great to finally see it up and people enjoying it~

  2. Pingback: Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai! Vol. 1 – Übersetzung verfügbar!

  3. Hi ultimatemegax, thank you very much for the translation.

    And so, I noticed that there are a lot of things that can be improved in the PDF, in which will make the whole reading experience better if done right. Thus, if you don’t mind, please let me to remake it.

    I have some experience making PDF. Here is the example of my work, http://www.mediafire.com/?niu15g71c1ssaan. Or maybe if you prefer it to be more simple, http://www.mediafire.com/?piblk242pk8fjh4.

    What I need is the text file and the illustration file. Please send it to me if you approve me remaking it.

    I’m waiting for the good news :)

  4. Thanks for the great work. It’ll be nice to compare both works once the anime finishes airing to see how they both stand. I’m wondering if I can even wait that long before reading.

  5. A trillion thanks, ultimatemegax! I know this must have been a tremendous pain in the ass to translate, but you stuck with it and did it very well!

    Also, did you translate “ちがう” as “not” a few times out of context? It’s no big deal, I just spotted it, and figured I’d ask.

    Example: “Eh, no, NOT. That’s not what I meant! I mean it’s the strongest!” near the bottom of page 118.

  6. Thanks for making this! I really wanted to read this after watching the anime.

    I’m not sure if it’s just on my e-reader, but the epub version doesn’t resize the pictures so I can only view a small part of the images (~25%). For example, I can only see half of Rika’s face and Yuuta gets cut out from the shoulders down on the cover art.

  7. First off, thank you for your efforts (and your site). It was very well done. I hope I’m not intruding but I did notice two sentences that seem to have a typo or might be better with a different english word. I don’t have the original and wouldn’t be able to read it if I did but in Chaper 8 Yuuta says: Rikka looked at me langishly. I think the word would be spelled languishly with the meaning of weakly. Weakly might be a better choice if that’s what was intended. A little farther down the translation says: She still looked a bit languished. Is weak still intended here or would it be anguished (in pain)? It’s probably not the wrong use of the words but sounds somewhat stilted to my ear.

  8. Pingback: Bạn muốn dịch bộ Light Novel nào? - Page 6 - Hakoooo~ desuyo!

  9. I appreciate you for doing this. Its so great to see all of your hard work paying off.

    However, when I try to open the standard PDF, the text in the novel is mishmashed with regulard english, and a bunch of code and gibberish. Do you have any idea what this could mean?

    • Perhaps the downloaded file was corrupted somehow between the server and your computer. It’s still fine on my side. Is there another computer you could try downloading it from to see if this issue replicates itself?

      • I tried to download the file again the next day, and now it looks normal, with no gibberish. Apparantly, you were right, the file was somehow corrupted. Thanks for the help

  10. thank you very much for translating this novel looking like you but in Spanish, but English version is a very complete thanks, well I’ll translate it into Spanish, heartfelt thanks of a Peruvian (Latin), is also cause (friend) and you do well. Arigatooooooooooooo.

  11. SORRY, I USE GOOGLE TRANSLATOR TO PUT MY COMMENT. THANKS FOR TRANSLATE THIS NOVEL.
    Muchas gracias por traducir esta novela la esta buscando como tu pero en español , pero tu version en ingles esta muy completa gracias, bueno lo traducire yo mismo al español , gracias de todo corazon de un peruano (latinoamericano) ,sigue asi causa (amigo) y que te valla bien .Arigatooooooooooooo.

  12. Hello again o/
    Just finished reading and loved it! Really! The anime version really changed a lot of things. Well, I’d like to ask something. I’m a member of a Brazillian fansub (don’t really know if this is the right term when you work with light novels) and would love to translate this novel to Brazillian portuguese. Do you mind if I use your translation? Of course, I’ll give you credits on the final release.

  13. thanks a lot man!actually i used your translations and publish it on wattpad but don’t worry i recognize you and your team of course as the one who translate it and i even put the link of this blog. i just want to inform you guys of what i did to avoid any misunderstandings. i have no intention of owning those translation. again,thanks!

  14. Pingback: Chu-2 Traducción de las novelas ligeras. | EBFS

  15. Pingback: Chu-2 Traducción de las novelas ligeras. | My Nichijou

Leave a Reply

