The Observation of Haruhi Suzumiya: Official Fanbook

Released on June 15th, 2011 (the same day as the common editions of The Surprise of Haruhi Suzumiya (First/Final)) The Observation of Haruhi Suzumiya: Official Fanbook is just like it says, an official fanbook for the novels.

(That poor quality is why I didn’t scan the covers for Surprise)

This book was being worked on during the production of The Astonishment of Haruhi Suzumiya (First/Final) on sale 2011/5/25 (First Press Limited Edition) and 6/15 (Common Edition).
For readers new to the Haruhi Suzumiya series, we have started this book with Chapter 1’s Character Introduction. In addition, Chapter 2 (Each Volume Explained) provides a good introduction to the story’s world. Also included, for readers who have been with us from the start are three chapters to enjoy. Chapter 3 is a Question and Answer Session with Nagaru Tanigawa and Noizi Itou; Chapter 4 is a Reprinted Manuscript written by Nagaru Tanigawa that is an inquiry entitled A Study in August originally published in The Sneaker magazine; and Chapter 5 is a Roundtable Discussion featuring Tanigawa, Itou, and two editors.
We hope that this book brings a small, but new enjoyment to those who love the Haruhi Suzumiya series.

Table of Contents:

Timeline
Chapter 1: Character Introductions/Profiles
Chapter 2: Story Outlines
Chapter 3: Q&A
(50 Questions/50 Answers each from Nagaru Tanigawa/Noizi Itou)
Chpater 4: Reprinted Manuscript (A Study in August)
(A scientific inquiry into Endless Eight written by Tanigawa himself.)
Chapter 5: Roundtable Discussion
(With Tanigawa, Itou, two editors from The Sneaker and a moderator)
Chapter 6: Supplementary Information
Descriptions, dates, and basic information for other Haruhi-related media.

Here is the finished product:
PDF/DOCX/EPUB

Since putting the images for the character profiles would increase the file size dramatically, I had to design the profiles to be text rather than images. I’ve included all but the three pictures beside “history” for a few characters since I couldn’t fit that in. For those who would like to see the profiles as they were originally designed, I have left them below with no alterations.
Character profiles:

Other Characters

I hope you all enjoy the fanbook. It was a pleasure to translate and something I’m proud to say was 100% ultimatemegax translation. Big thanks goes to Lloydwaver for helping edit and TMSIDR for formatting help. (I cannot express how much I hate that timeline. That timeline took up a good 1/4 of this duration) Please enjoy! It’s not clear whether Yen Press/Hatchette Book Group/Little, Brown Inc. have the rights to this, but if asked, I will take this down.

19 thoughts on “The Observation of Haruhi Suzumiya: Official Fanbook

  1. Pingback: The Observation of Haruhi Suzumiya (Official Fanbook): English Translation | Polychromium

  2. Thanks, the stuff already translated was interesting to read.
    At least we now know that the next novel is being planned for already.

  3. This looks really interesting! I look forward to reading the rest of it! Thanks for all you’ve done and all you will do!

  4. I haven’t read Hamlet, but I’m pretty sure he plays Guildernstern in ‘Rosencrantz and Guildernstern are Dead’ by Tom Stoppard. This is because they do not have that coin flipping scene in Hamlet, where they are only minor characters.
    I’ve searched through the ebook quickly, and could not find any reference to that scene.
    It might be a Japanese mistake, but it’s wrong.
    o_o
    I sound like I care, but not really. Just thought I’d point out this very miniscule detail.

    Thanks a lot for these. I enjoy reading them.
    Cheers.

    • It specifically states that he acts as Guildernsten in “Shakespeare’s play ‘Hamlet’” in his profile. I double-checked for accuracy in this translation. It could be a different version in Japan from what we are used to elsewhere.

  5. Hmm, yeah I guess.
    It’s just that the school’s play was Rosencrantz and Guildernstern.
    Ah, if I read it again, it does work I guess.
    Guildernstern is undeniable a character in ‘Hamlet’, though the play they perform is R&G are Dead.
    Eh, whatever, it works if you think about it that way.
    Thanks for Tsuruya’s one.

  6. Pingback: Theme: Time-Traveling | Polychromium

  7. Yes, I found some of the translated material interesting as well. (I hope there will be a post announcing the completion of the translation?) I loled at:

    ’43. It’s now May of 2011. Is there anything you really wish for now? ‘

    ‘I’d like a robot maid who specializes in cleaning after cats and who can also help prepare me to ride the bullet trains. ‘

    • I’ll tweet when it’s done and update this post. It’s in the very last stages of production, meaning I’m having an issue with formatting. Look for it sometime this week.

      Tanigawa is hilarious and Itou is so wonderful. I want to translate more about her!

  8. Pingback: The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya: Official Guidebook Translation « Ultimatemegax's blog

  9. Just something I noticed why reading it. On page 105, the opening of Chapter 5, it said “In April 2004.” I believe you meant 2011?

  10. Hi, I’m Haruhi fan, and I want to translate it into my native language (Vietnamese). Can you give me your permission?

    Thanks you very much for translated this material.

Leave a Reply

